Skip to main content

We’ve updated our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy. By using this site, you agree to these terms.

Geisinger becomes the first member of Risant Health

LEWISTOWN, Pa. – The Geisinger Lewistown Auxiliary recently awarded the Mildred Crawford and Sophie Snook scholarships to eight employees in Mifflin and Juniata counties who are continuing their higher education in the medical field. The Geisinger Lewistown Auxiliary awards the scholarships annually.  

The Sophie Snook Scholarship was established in memory of Sophie Snook, the first graduate of Geisinger Lewistown Hospital School of Nursing. The auxiliary awards four $1,000 scholarships annually. The committee strives to help those with financial needs who are continuing their medical education.

The Mildred Crawford Scholarship gifts a $1,000 scholarship to a recipient who demonstrates financial need. The scholarship was set up in memory of Mildred Crawford, a Juniata County resident whose generous estate gift made this program possible.

This year, recipients Rachael Barszczowski, Caitlynn Brown, Rachel French, Cheyanne Freed, Suzanne Ward, Amanda Parker, Natalie Fultz and Michelle Mease were awarded the scholarship based on leadership, commitment, character and academic ability.

The auxiliary’s fundraising efforts contribute toward the scholarship fund, offering these valuable scholarships to fitting recipients.

About Geisinger
Geisinger is among the nation’s leading providers of value-based care, serving 1.2 million people in urban and rural communities across Pennsylvania. Founded in 1915 by philanthropist Abigail Geisinger, the non-profit system generates $10 billion in annual revenues across 134 care sites - including 10 hospital campuses, and Geisinger Health Plan, with 600,000 members in commercial and government plans. The Geisinger College of Health Sciences educates more than 5,000 medical professionals annually and conducts more than 1,400 clinical research studies. With 26,000 employees, including 1,600 employed physicians, Geisinger is among Pennsylvania’s largest employers with an estimated economic impact of $14 billion to the state’s economy. On March 31, 2024, Geisinger became the first member of Risant Health, a new nonprofit charitable organization created to expand and accelerate value-based care across the country.  Learn more at or connect with us on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and X.

Geisinger Lewistown Auxiliary award winners standing together
Pictured left to right are some of the scholarship winners, Amanda Parker, Caitlynn Brown, Rachael Barszczowski, and Rachel French.
For media inquiries, contact our team.
Content from General Links with modal content