Skip to main content
Doctor providing a child a check-up

About Geisinger Holy Spirit

Trauma care
Geisinger Holy Spirit is a Pennsylvania Trauma Systems Foundation accredited Level II Trauma Center.

Trauma centers provide around-the-clock complex critical care for patients suffering from life-threatening injuries such as those resulting from motor vehicle accidents, falls and acts of violence. Geisinger Holy Spirit’s trauma team includes a trauma/critical care physician, an emergency medicine physician, neurosurgeons and orthopaedic traumatologists who are supported by surgical and non-surgical specialists and staff from anesthesia, radiology and interventional radiology.

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)
If your newborn requires additional medical care, he or she will be cared for in our Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (or NICU) at Geisinger Holy Spirit. Our NICU is staffed 24/7 by neonatologists, neonatal nurse practitioners, neonatal nurses and respiratory therapists — all equipped with special training to provide the care and support your baby needs.  

Located right next to our labor and delivery unit, the Geisinger Holy Spirit NICU cares for premature and term infants requiring specialized care such as continuous cardio-respiratory monitoring, supplemental oxygen, mechanical ventilation and CPAP for respiratory support, IV fluids and IV antibiotics for suspected infections and intensive phototherapy to treat severe jaundice. Should your baby need additional care, transfer to another NICU is available. 

To contact the Geisinger Holy Spirit NICU, call

Quality awards
Over the years, Geisinger Holy Spirit has earned American Heart Association/American Stroke Association Get With The Guidelines (GWTG) honors for our commitment to providing evidence-based heart and stroke care. Geisinger Holy Spirit was the first hospital in Pennsylvania to receive the GWTG Atrial Fibrillation (Afib) Gold award, recognizing us for implementing specific quality improvement measures for the management of patients with atrial fibrillation. We also earned the GWTG Heart Failure Gold Plus award, and the GWTG Stroke Gold Plus award.

We are certified as an Advanced Primary Stroke Center by The Joint Commission, in conjunction with the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association, and we earned Advanced Certification in Inpatient Diabetes Care from The Joint Commission. We are accredited as a Chest Pain Center (primary PCI with resuscitation) by the American College of Cardiology.

Geisinger Holy Spirit earned Highmark Blue Shield Blue Distinction Center designations for cardiac care, spine surgery, and maternity care, as well as Blue Distinction Center+ designations for knee and hip replacement. Blue Distinction Centers are nationally designated healthcare facilities shown to deliver improved patient safety and better health outcomes, based on objective measures that were developed with input from the medical community.

The Geisinger Holy Spirit Breast Care Center earned accreditation from the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers, a quality program of the American College of Surgeons.

Geisinger Holy Spirit General Surgery’s bariatric program is accredited as a comprehensive center under the Meta­bolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improve­ment Program (MBSAQIP®), a joint program of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) and the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery (ASMBS).

The Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders (NICHE) recognizes our commitment to providing positive experiences for the older adults in our care.